A Writer’s Life for Me Tag Questions

This is in response to Kristen Martin’s vlog post, which you can watch here:
TAG | A Writer’s Life For Me

1. What kind of writer are you? (Fiction, poetry, plays, screenplays, non-fiction, more than one of these?)
Poetry is how I started writing regularly. I also write fiction, non-fiction, science fiction, and fantasy (short stories and novels).
I’ve posted over 100 of my poems here. Each word under PAGES along the right-hand side is the title link to a different poem. Click the link to read the poem. 🙂

2. When did you start writing? What made you want to try it?
I wrote for my school newspaper in 7th grade, but I know I journaled and told stories verbally for years before that. I began writing consistently at 14, when I started writing poetry.

3. What inspires your stories (or poems, plays, etc.)?
With poems, it’s usually a word, scenery, song, dream, or an idea that sparks a need for me to write about it. With novels, I generally want to tell stories I’ve never heard before, so I think of some idea that interested me and how that could be applied in a narrative way. With short stories, I’ve usually had writing prompts that caused me to write a short response.

4. What themes do you like to explore in your writing?
I don’t really think thematically yet when writing.

5. Are you a pantser or a plotter or a bit of both?
I was very much a plotter in my youth, but I never finished any of the novels I started. The first novel I did finish I totally pantsed. I think pantsing works better for me, but I’m such an organized person I still enjoy plotting.

6. Where are you at in your journey? Querying, agented, published?
I’m going back and learning the fundamentals of storytelling at this point. I’ve always written things that interest me, but I’ve found they don’t interest others. I’m learning how to express the same idea from multiple views so that my writing engages more readers.

7. Have you ever entered any writing contests? Finaled? Won?
Yes, I entered many in my youth. The newspaper I wrote for took first place in the state of Texas that year for middle school papers. I wrote an essay in high school that took third place in the state of Texas, and I won several poetry contests I entered back then. I stopped entering contests when I went to college, though.

8. Who are your writer heroes?
Isaac Asimov and Ray Bradbury were huge influences on me in my youth. I still adore them both.

9. Have you been to a writing conference?
Nope.

10. Top 3 tips you’d give to newbie writers?
Read. Write. Repeat.
Seriously, though, you do need to read to write better, and you do need to practice writing to be a better writer.

Feel free to respond to these questions yourself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

