Voices of YA Tag

Thank you to Kristen Martin for pointing out this YA Tag created by Caitlin Lambert. To see Martin’s responses to the questions below, you can watch her video here.

ABOUT THE WRITERS:
What draws you to YA?
I usually read YA because a young person I know (niece, godson, etc.) suggests a book to me, or a parent does. They’re often quick, easy reads, which is a fun change of pace for me from the books I normally read.

Describe your writing process. Do you like outlines and structure, or seeing where the story takes you?
I prefer to have a general idea about the story I’m going to write before I start it. There has to be something in the story that intrigues me, or I won’t continue writing it. The hardest part about writing for me is thinking of a storyline that keeps my interest. I start with a concept, and then write to see where it takes me.

How long have you been writing? Where are you in your journey?
I wrote for my school newspaper in 7th grade, but I know I journaled and told stories verbally for years before that. I began writing consistently at 14, when I started writing poetry. I finished my first novel in 2014. Currently, I’ve joined a local writer’s group and am in the process of learning how to write scripts.

What do you need to write? Coffee? Music?
I need a good idea. If I have something nagging at my thoughts, then I have to write it. I prefer silence when I write.

If you could offer one piece of advice to another writer (OTHER THAN “don’t give up”), what would it be?
Read more. The more you expose yourself to the written word, the better you’ll be at writing yourself.

ABOUT THE BOOKS:
What book still has you reeling from its plot twist? (*no spoilers please*)
Whether good or bad, I cannot say, but I have the habit of putting a book down whenever something interesting happens in the story and thinking through all the possible outcomes I can imagine before continuing. For this reason, I cannot think of any books that had a plot twist I didn’t anticipate. Movies go far more quickly, and I was surprised by The Usual Suspects and The Game. I can’t think of any movies that left me “reeling,” but those two had good twists. I also really loved finding out what the Matrix was.

What books are you most anticipating for this year?
I don’t read YA regularly, so the only book I’m anticipating at the moment is Kristen Martin’s next book, Shadow Crown.

In your opinion, which YA book/series has the most unique premise?
I loved the Little House on the Prairie books growing up. I can’t think of other authors who’ve written embellished versions of their childhood and life in the way Laura Ingalls Wilder did. It’s unique to me, at least.

What is your all-time favorite quote from YA lit (I know, I’m cruel)?
From Little House in the Big Woods, Pa tells his daughter, “But Laura, I have brown hair too,” and Laura realizes she has no reason to be jealous of Mary for her blonde hair. His response has always stuck with me.

What book do you most hope will have a movie adaptation?
I enjoy reading books for their own sake. Books are written to be books, and I’m happy with them being books. If they become movies, that’s great, but they’ll never be how I imagined the story when I read it. While I don’t spend time hoping for movie versions, I’m always happy when an adaptation is done well.

If you’re reading this, tag! You’re it! Go forth and write your own response to this tag challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

